In July of 1955 a couple of young farmers from nearby St. Joseph's Ridge purchased a little tavern at the foot of La Crosse's scenic Hedgehog Bluff from Louie and Jeanette Clements. Arlene and Norbert Schmidt moved with their three young children into four cramped rooms on the second floor of the place they called Schmidty's. In 1958 a dining room was added. The bar area was enlarged and a fireplace constructed in 1962. At that time, the oval bar, unique to the area, was built.

The formula the young couple used to build their creation into a local institution was as simple as it was timeworn. Offer great food at reasonable prices, provide excellent service, in a friendly atmosphere.

In 1994, after 39 years, Arlene and Norbert passed the torch to their youngest son, Bob. Shortly thereafter, Bob's daughter Amy, upon graduation from UW Stout came to help manage Schmidty's.

In 2000 the bar and dining rooms were expanded, the ceiling raised, and the interior and exterior were completely refurbished. A new kitchen and handicap accessible bathrooms were added. The party room was moved to the main level, a gas fireplace built, and a new oval bar was constructed.

At that time the primary mission of Schmidty's was reexamined. They decided to offer great food, provide excellent service in a friendly atmosphere. Some things you just don't change. Welcome to Schmidty's... a place for family and friends.

Copyright   2007 - 2008 Schmidty's.  All rights reserved

Powered by: MCS Networks